Heritage Weekend Tile 2014
Branson W. Chrisman started the process of building this house in the summer of 1904 but did not move into it until July 1906. Common for the times, bricks were first made on site. The remnants of one of the kilns still sits on Chipley Lane.
Joseph Harper, Mr. Chrisman's brother-in-law, of Lost River designed the house pattered after his home in Lost River.
Eliza Chrisman Harper, Mr. Chrisman's sister, gave the house its name, noting how the sun penetrated every side. Due to the unique bays, even the norther side received the sun in the morning and afternoon.
Sunnyside is a two story brick house in the late Queen Anne style. It is accented by a semi-hexagonal projecting bay beneath a heavily bracketed overhanging gable.
Brothers Claude and Tom Bergdoll were the original Sunnyside carpenters. Just a few years later, Tom
built his own home down the street at 211 Winchester Ave.
Running water from the town's works reached this house in 1910 and electricity lit up its rooms in 1914.
Miss Patti Chapman, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Brandon Chrisman, lived in the house until she died at the age of 98. She was an only child and never married. She was 14 years old when the house was built.
The current owners purchased the house in 1990 and restored every room and furnished it with treasured antiques. Highlights of the house include beautiful manuals and woodwork. A family room was added in the back of the house keeping the hexagonal shape of the bays. It was designed by Stowell of Harper's Ferry.
Location: 307 Winchester Ave, Moorefield