Robert Cleland Wilson House
Known as part of the Old Church lot, Robert A. Wilson purchased the property in 1905 from the Town of Moorefield. It was not until 1914 that Robert and his wife, Gelia M. Wilson built this lovely two story, white wood-frame house as a wedding present for their son, Robert Cleland and his bride, Pauline Williams.
Robert A. had the house constructed in the same floor plan as his own Victorian home on 125 South Main Street, but with less of the Victorian ornamentation. Both houses have a large foyer with an elegant staircase and spacious rooms. Simple, wide-plank white oak baseboards and doorframes are found throughout the house. The house’s most unique features are the leaded glass windows as well as the built-in china cabinet in the dining room. While many of the rooms have mantels, there are no fireplaces; the house is reported to have been one of the first homes in Moorefield to have a furnace. Timber used to construct the house was harvested just outside of town on land now occupied by the Moorefield Middle School.
Robert Cleland, who was in the mercantile business with his father, lived in the house until 1927 when the family moved to Washington, D.C. Even though the property has passed through many owners since its construction, the house has remained virtually unchanged.
Open Curtesy of Jill Seal
Directions 111 Elm St, Moorefield
Photo by Mike Crites